About Heliotherapy Research Institute

About HRI

Heliotherapy Research Institute is a privately funded non-commercial organization that supports the research of phototherapy,
its healing effects and the practical uses.

Our Mission

Heliotherapy Research Institute (HRI) investigates the effect of light on human health, wellness, and body. Our mission is to pave the way for understanding the effects of light on the body, its effectiveness and to show real effectiveness through testing and investigation. We want to convey to people that its use is truly effective and worthy of attention. Even today, the fact of light therapy indisputable advantages over other light sources is recognized unanimously.

Meet the team

Jose Mier

Jose Diego Mier

Specialist and Associate Professor in Pulmonology, Founder of HRI

Email: jose.mier@heliotherapy.institute

Steven Nistico

Steven Nistico

Specialist and Associate Professor in Dermatology in HRI


Email: steven.nistico@heliotherapy.institute

Michael Hirsch‬

Michael Hirsch‬

Specialist and the expert in skin diseases


Email: michael.hirsch@heliotherapy.institute

Robert Dawe

Robert Dawe

Consultant Dermatologist & Honorary Clinical Reader


Email: robert.dawe@heliotherapy.institute

Changsop Yang

Changsop Yang

Senior Researcher of Heliothrapy Research Institute


Email: changsop.yang@heliotherapy.institute

Belle Dume

Belle Dume

Research Scientist on the Skin Physiology and Pharmacology team

Email: belle.dume@heliotherapy.institute

Mark Eldering

Mark Eldering

Scientist expert in Biological Psychiatry and Mental Illness

Email: mark.eldering@heliotherapy.institute

Charles Althoff

Charles Althoff

Medical-Surgical Dermatology and Venerology

Email: charles.althoff@heliotherapy.institute

Icksoo Lee

Icksoo Lee

Associate Professor of HRI


Email: icksoo.lee@heliotherapy.institute

Sign up for the scholarship